Best Rooftop Tent (2026): Rooftop Tent Reviews
The Tuff Stuff Elite Overland Roof Top Tent ranks first among the 13 picks in this guide because its listing states the largest sleeping capacity, five people, even though it does not name a shell type. The picks are compared on the details each listing states (shell, sleeping capacity, width, aluminum, four season, and ladder) and on live prices, with a rule that ranks higher sleeping capacities first.
13 picks from 46 rooftop tents that match this guide with a price we can quote today, made by 10 makers. Every price below is live and carries the moment it was read.
The picks at a glance
Which one should you buy?
- For a couple who camps on weekends: A two-person soft shell such as the Roofnest Meadowlark gives a couple a stated sleeping capacity for two and a shell that folds into a cover; for a weekend trip, the stated capacity and shell type are the details this guide can compare. See pick 12
- For a family of four: For a family of four, the Bayati hard shell states a four-person sleeping capacity and a four season claim in its title, giving a rigid case and an insulation statement to consider. See pick 3
- For a buyer who prefers a rigid case: The Topoak Vision XL is a hard shell that states a four-person capacity and a 75-inch width, so a buyer who wants a rigid case with a stated width can weigh these details. See pick 4
- For a buyer who wants a fabric tent that folds into a cover: The Overland Vehicle Systems soft shell states a three-person capacity and a ladder, fitting a buyer who wants a soft shell with an access ladder stated. See pick 8
The 13 picks
1 Largest stated sleeping capacity in this list
Tuff Stuff Elite Overland Roof Top Tent & Annex Room
- Sleeps (people)
- 5 people
$3,025.00 price as of 2026-10-12 05:31 UTC (Details)
Ranks first because it states a sleeping capacity of five people, the largest of any pick. It outranks all others on the capacity rule even though it does not state a shell or any of the three features.
Pros
- States a five-person sleeping capacity
- Largest stated capacity among the picks
- Listed by Tuff Stuff
Cons
- No shell type stated by the seller
- No aluminum, four season, or ladder stated
- No width stated
Good fit if
- For a group that needs the largest stated sleeping capacity
- For a buyer who wants a tent that states five places to sleep
Skip if
- For a buyer who wants a hard shell or soft shell specifically
- For a buyer who wants aluminum, four season, or ladder stated
Verdict: The top pick because the listing states the largest sleeping capacity in this list, though it leaves shell and features unstated.
2 Soft shell with a ladder, stated for four people
Soft Shell Rooftop Tent with Covered Ladder Access
- Shell type
- Soft shell
- Sleeps (people)
- 4 people
- Ladder included
- Yes
$1,637.28 price as of 2026-10-12 05:12 UTC (Details)
Ranks second because it ties for the highest stated sleeping capacity among soft shell picks (four) and adds a ladder, giving it a feature count of one.
Pros
- States a soft shell
- States sleeping capacity of four people
- States a ladder
- Listed by Pittman Outdoors
Cons
- No aluminum stated
- No four season stated
- No width stated
Good fit if
- For a buyer who wants a soft shell tent that states four sleeping places
- For a buyer who wants a ladder stated in the title
Skip if
- For a buyer who prefers a hard shell
- For a buyer who wants four season or aluminum stated
Verdict: A soft shell four-person tent with a stated ladder, ranking second for its capacity and ladder feature.
3 Hard shell with four season stated, for four people
Naturnest Rooftop Tent Hard Shell
- Shell type
- Hard shell
- Sleeps (people)
- 4 people
- Four season or insulated
- Yes
$1,839.00 price as of 2026-10-12 05:32 UTC (Details)
Ranks third because it matches the four-person capacity of the picks above but adds a four season statement, giving it one feature.
Pros
- States a hard shell
- States sleeping capacity of four people
- States four season
- Listed by Bayati
Cons
- No aluminum stated
- No ladder stated
- No width stated
Good fit if
- For a buyer who wants a hard shell with a four season statement
- For a family or group of four based on the stated capacity
Skip if
- For a buyer who wants a soft shell
- For a buyer who wants aluminum or a ladder stated
Verdict: A hard shell four-person tent that states four season, ranking third on capacity and its four season feature.
4 Hard shell for four with a stated width of 75 inches
TOPOAK Vision XL 75-Inch Hard Shell Rooftop Tent for 3 Adults
- Shell type
- Hard shell
- Sleeps (people)
- 4 people
- Tent width
- 75 in
$2,168.00 price as of 2026-10-12 05:31 UTC (Details)
Ranks fourth because it states a four-person capacity and a 75-inch width, though it has no extra feature count.
Pros
- States a hard shell
- States sleeping capacity of four people
- States a width of 75 inches
- Listed by Topoak
Cons
- No aluminum, four season, or ladder stated
- No other feature details given
Good fit if
- For a buyer who wants a hard shell with a stated width
- For a group of four based on the listed capacity
Skip if
- For a buyer who wants four season or a ladder stated
- For a buyer who wants a soft shell
Verdict: A hard shell four-person tent with a stated 75-inch width, ranking fourth for its capacity and width.
5 Four-person tent from Thule, shell type not stated
Ranks fifth because it states four-person capacity but no shell or features; it sits after the three four-person tents that have at least one stated feature or width.
Pros
- States sleeping capacity of four people
- Listed by Thule
- No shell type stated, so it leaves that choice open
Cons
- No shell type stated
- No aluminum, four season, or ladder stated
- No width stated
Good fit if
- For a buyer who wants a four-person tent and does not need a shell type in the title
- For a buyer who values the Thule brand
Skip if
- For a buyer who wants a hard shell or soft shell stated
- For a buyer who wants four season or a ladder stated
Verdict: A four-person Thule tent with no shell statement, ranking fifth on capacity alone.
6 Soft shell for four people from Overland Vehicle Systems
Extended Soft Shell Rooftop Tent
- Shell type
- Soft shell
- Sleeps (people)
- 4 people
$1,999.97 price as of 2026-10-12 05:31 UTC (Details)
Ranks sixth because it is a soft shell four-person tent with no extra features, placing it after the four-person tents with a feature or width.
Pros
- States a soft shell
- States sleeping capacity of four people
- Listed by Overland Vehicle Systems
Cons
- No aluminum, four season, or ladder stated
- No width stated
Good fit if
- For a buyer who wants a soft shell four-person tent
- For a buyer who prefers Overland Vehicle Systems
Skip if
- For a buyer who wants a hard shell or hybrid
- For a buyer who wants four season or a ladder stated
Verdict: A soft shell four-person tent from Overland Vehicle Systems, ranking sixth for its capacity and shell type.
7 Hard shell for three with a four season statement
Naturnest Rooftop Tent Hard Shell
- Shell type
- Hard shell
- Sleeps (people)
- 3 people
- Four season or insulated
- Yes
$1,499.00 price as of 2026-10-12 05:32 UTC (Details)
Ranks seventh because it drops to a three-person capacity but keeps a four season feature, placing it above other three-person tents without features.
Pros
- States a hard shell
- States sleeping capacity of three people
- States four season
- Listed by Bayati
Cons
- No aluminum or ladder stated
- No width stated
Good fit if
- For a buyer who wants a hard shell three-person tent with four season stated
- For a couple or small group based on the stated capacity
Skip if
- For a buyer who needs four-person capacity
- For a buyer who wants aluminum or a ladder stated
Verdict: A hard shell three-person tent that states four season, ranking seventh.
8 Soft shell for three with a ladder stated
Soft Shell Rooftop Tent for SUV & Truck Camping
- Shell type
- Soft shell
- Sleeps (people)
- 3 people
- Ladder included
- Yes
$1,099.99 price as of 2026-10-12 05:32 UTC (Details)
Ranks eighth because it is a three-person soft shell with a ladder, giving it one feature; it follows the three-person tent that also has one feature but a hard shell and four season.
Pros
- States a soft shell
- States sleeping capacity of three people
- States a ladder
- Listed by Overland Vehicle Systems
Cons
- No aluminum or four season stated
- No width stated
Good fit if
- For a buyer who wants a soft shell three-person tent with a ladder
- For a couple or three people based on the stated capacity
Skip if
- For a buyer who wants a hard shell
- For a buyer who wants four season or aluminum stated
Verdict: A soft shell three-person tent with a stated ladder, ranking eighth.
9 Hard shell for three with a stated width of 57 inches
JAMES BAROUD Space Model
- Shell type
- Hard shell
- Sleeps (people)
- 3 people
- Tent width
- 57 in
$4,295.00 price as of 2026-10-12 05:32 UTC (Details)
Ranks ninth because it is a three-person hard shell with a width statement but no feature flags.
Pros
- States a hard shell
- States sleeping capacity of three people
- States a width of 57 inches
- Listed by JAMES BAROUD
Cons
- No aluminum, four season, or ladder stated
- No other feature details
Good fit if
- For a buyer who wants a hard shell three-person tent with a width
- For a buyer who values a stated width
Skip if
- For a buyer who wants four season or a ladder
- For a buyer who wants a soft shell
Verdict: A hard shell three-person tent with a 57-inch width statement, ranking ninth.
10 Three-person Thule tent, shell type not stated
Thule Kukenam 3 Person Rooftop Tent
- Sleeps (people)
- 3 people
$2,399.95 price as of 2026-10-12 05:12 UTC (Details)
Ranks tenth because it has the same three-person capacity as the previous picks but no shell, feature, or width; it falls after those with stated features or width.
Pros
- States sleeping capacity of three people
- Listed by Thule
- No shell type stated
Cons
- No shell type stated
- No aluminum, four season, or ladder stated
- No width stated
Good fit if
- For a buyer who wants a three-person tent without a shell statement
- For a buyer who prefers the Thule brand
Skip if
- For a buyer who wants a hard shell or soft shell specified
- For a buyer who wants four season or a ladder
Verdict: A three-person Thule tent with no shell statement, ranking tenth.
11 Hybrid shell with aluminum stated for two people
Overland Vehicle Systems XD Sherpa Soft Shell Aluminum Hard Shell Hybrid
- Shell type
- Hybrid
- Sleeps (people)
- 2 people
- Aluminum
- Yes
$1,747.16 price as of 2026-10-12 05:12 UTC (Details)
Ranks eleventh because it states a hybrid shell and aluminum, but its sleeping capacity drops to two, placing it after all three-person tents.
Pros
- States a hybrid shell
- States aluminum in the title
- States sleeping capacity of two people
- Listed by Overland Vehicle Systems
Cons
- No four season or ladder stated
- No width stated
- Two-person capacity is the smallest in the list
Good fit if
- For a buyer who wants a hybrid shell with aluminum stated
- For a couple based on the stated capacity
Skip if
- For a buyer who needs capacity for more than two people
- For a buyer who wants a hard shell or soft shell only
Verdict: A hybrid shell two-person tent with aluminum stated, ranking eleventh on capacity.
12 Soft shell for two from Roofnest
Roofnest Meadowlark Soft Shell Roof Top Tent for Car Camping
- Shell type
- Soft shell
- Sleeps (people)
- 2 people
$1,525.00 price as of 2026-10-12 05:31 UTC (Details)
Ranks twelfth because it is a soft shell two-person tent with no features; it follows the hybrid tent that had a feature.
Pros
- States a soft shell
- States sleeping capacity of two people
- Listed by Roofnest
Cons
- No aluminum, four season, or ladder stated
- No width stated
- Two-person capacity is the smallest in the list
Good fit if
- For a buyer who wants a soft shell two-person tent
- For a couple based on the stated capacity
Skip if
- For a buyer who needs four-person capacity
- For a buyer who wants a hard shell or hybrid
Verdict: A soft shell two-person tent from Roofnest, ranking twelfth.
13 Hard shell with aluminum, no sleeping capacity stated
SanHima Hotham Rooftop Tent Hard Shell
- Shell type
- Hard shell
- Aluminum
- Yes
$1,399.99 price as of 2026-10-12 05:31 UTC (Details)
Ranks last because the listing does not state a sleeping capacity, so it falls after all tents that do; among no-capacity entries it has one feature (aluminum) but here it is the only one.
Pros
- States a hard shell
- States aluminum
- Listed by SAN HIMA
Cons
- No sleeping capacity stated by the seller
- No four season or ladder stated
- No width stated
Good fit if
- For a buyer who focuses on a hard shell with aluminum stated
- For a buyer who is not relying on a stated person count
Skip if
- For a buyer who needs a stated sleeping capacity
- For a buyer who wants four season or a ladder
Verdict: A hard shell with aluminum stated but no sleeping capacity, ranking last in this list.
Side by side
| # | Rooftop tent | Shell type | Sleeps (people) | Tent width | Aluminum | Four season or insulated | Ladder included |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Tuff Stuff Elite Overland Roof Top Tent & Annex Room | not stated | 5 people | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 2 | Soft Shell Rooftop Tent with Covered Ladder Access | Soft shell | 4 people | not stated | not stated | not stated | Yes |
| 3 | Naturnest Rooftop Tent Hard Shell | Hard shell | 4 people | not stated | not stated | Yes | not stated |
| 4 | TOPOAK Vision XL 75-Inch Hard Shell Rooftop Tent for 3 Adults | Hard shell | 4 people | 75 in | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 5 | Thule Approach 2 Large | not stated | 4 people | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 6 | Extended Soft Shell Rooftop Tent | Soft shell | 4 people | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 7 | Naturnest Rooftop Tent Hard Shell | Hard shell | 3 people | not stated | not stated | Yes | not stated |
| 8 | Soft Shell Rooftop Tent for SUV & Truck Camping | Soft shell | 3 people | not stated | not stated | not stated | Yes |
| 9 | JAMES BAROUD Space Model | Hard shell | 3 people | 57 in | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 10 | Thule Kukenam 3 Person Rooftop Tent | not stated | 3 people | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 11 | Overland Vehicle Systems XD Sherpa Soft Shell Aluminum Hard Shell Hybrid | Hybrid | 2 people | not stated | Yes | not stated | not stated |
| 12 | Roofnest Meadowlark Soft Shell Roof Top Tent for Car Camping | Soft shell | 2 people | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 13 | SanHima Hotham Rooftop Tent Hard Shell | Hard shell | not stated | not stated | Yes | not stated | not stated |
How we picked
From a catalogue of 37 rooftop tent listings, this guide selects 13 covering every shell type the pool holds: hard shell, soft shell, and hybrid. No more than three picks come from any one brand. The picks are ranked first by the largest stated sleeping capacity (four-person tents before three-person, and so on), then by how many of the three stated features (aluminum, four season, and ladder) appear in the title, and finally by the order of the catalogue. Listings that state no sleeping capacity come after those that do, ordered by the same feature count and then catalogue order. Every tent is compared on the details stated in its listing and on its live price; no claim is made about aspects not recorded in the catalogue.
How to choose
Hard shell or soft shell
A hard shell is a tent whose title says hard shell, a rigid case that opens. A soft shell is a tent whose title says soft shell, a fabric tent that folds into a cover. A hybrid title names both. This guide compares these shell types only as stated details; it does not claim that one is quicker to set up, warmer, lighter, or longer lasting.
How many people the title says it sleeps
The sleeping capacity is the largest number the seller puts in the title, such as "2-3 Person" reading as 3. It is what the seller states, not a promise of how many adults fit comfortably. When a title does not state a capacity, this guide writes "not stated by the seller" and ranks that listing after the tents that do state one.
Aluminum and four season in a title
When a title names aluminum or aluminium, the seller states that the tent uses aluminum. When a title says 4 season, winter, thermal, or insulation, the seller states a four season claim. These are details to weigh alongside capacity and shell, but this guide does not interpret them into performance promises.
Read the listing before you read the guide
The inventory in this guide captures only the details named above. The full listing may add dimensions, materials, accessories, or instructions that are not in the pool. Always open the listing and read the maker's description before deciding, and keep this guide as a comparison of the stated core details and live prices.
Ask the maker about mounting and roof limits
This guide does not state that a tent fits, suits, or is safe on any vehicle, roof, rack, or crossbar. For mounting advice, read the maker's instructions and check the vehicle maker's roof and rack limits in the vehicle manual. Where the maker or local rules require one, use a qualified installer.
What this guide leaves out (and why)
The catalogue records only the details this guide compares: shell type, stated sleeping capacity, width, aluminum, four season, and ladder. It holds no data for other characteristics, so this guide does not address them. It compares only the stated details and live prices.
Questions
Does this guide cover weight, setup time, or weather performance?
No. The catalogue used for this guide records only the shell, sleeping capacity, width, aluminum, four season, and ladder. It has no data on other aspects, so this guide does not cover them. For anything else, read the listing and the maker's instructions.
How is the top pick chosen?
The top pick is the tent that states the largest sleeping capacity among the 13 picks, per the ordering rule in the method. When capacities tie, the rule then counts how many of the three features (aluminum, four season, and ladder) appear in the title, then falls back to catalogue order. No price or popularity ranking is used.
Can a rooftop tent be mounted on any vehicle?
This guide makes no claim about vehicle fit or safety. Mounting depends on the vehicle, its roof and rack limits, and the maker's instructions. Check the vehicle manual for roof and rack load limits, follow the tent maker's instructions, and use a qualified installer where the maker or local rules require one.
What does 'four season' mean in a title?
It is a seller statement that the tent includes insulation or is intended for four-season use. This guide treats it as a listed detail, not as a measured guarantee. A listing that says 4 season, winter, thermal, or insulation gets a four season flag; otherwise the field is "not stated by the seller".
Why are some tents listed without a shell type?
When a title does not say hard shell, soft shell, or hybrid, the catalogue records no shell value, and this guide writes "not stated by the seller" rather than guessing. Those tents still appear in the list, ranked by the same capacity-first rule, but they carry no shell claim.
Recent updates
- : First published.












