Best Rooftop Tent Under $1700 in 2026: 4 Picks
The top pick for a rooftop tent under $1700 is the Pittman Outdoors soft shell, the only listing here that states a sleeping capacity of four and a covered ladder. This guide compares four listings under $1700 on the details each seller states, including shell type, capacity, aluminum, a ladder, and live prices. The ordering is based on stated sleeping capacity and the presence of stated features, not on price or popularity.
4 picks from 4 rooftop tents that match this guide with a price we can quote today, made by 10 makers. Every price below is live and carries the moment it was read.
The picks at a glance
| # | Pick | Rooftop tent | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Only 4-person pick with a ladder | Soft Shell Rooftop Tent with Covered Ladder Access | $1,637.28 price as of 2026-10-12 05:12 UTC (Details) |
| 2 | Hard shell with stated 2-person capacity | Naturnest Rooftop Tent Hard Shell | $1,699.00 price as of 2026-10-12 05:13 UTC (Details) |
| 3 | Only 2-person soft shell here | Extended Soft Shell Rooftop Tent | $1,649.99 price as of 2026-10-12 05:31 UTC (Details) |
| 4 | Only pick with aluminum stated | SanHima Rooftop Tent Hard Shell | $1,699.99 price as of 2026-10-12 05:31 UTC (Details) Typical price: |
Which one should you buy?
- For a family of four: This soft shell states a sleeping capacity of four and a covered ladder, making it a direct match for a family that wants those details in the listing. See pick 1
- For a couple who camps on weekends: A hard shell that states a two-person capacity and a pop-up design suits a couple who prefers a rigid case for weekend trips. See pick 2
- For a buyer who prefers a rigid case: The SanHima hard shell states aluminum and a fold-out design, but not a sleeping capacity; read the listing for capacity and mounting details. See pick 4
- For a buyer who wants a soft shell from a known overland brand: The Extended soft shell from Overland Vehicle Systems states a two-person capacity and an extended design, for a buyer who wants that brand and shell type. See pick 3
The 4 picks
1 Only 4-person pick with a ladder
Soft Shell Rooftop Tent with Covered Ladder Access
- Shell type
- Soft shell
- Sleeps (people)
- 4 people
- Ladder included
- Yes
$1,637.28 price as of 2026-10-12 05:12 UTC (Details)
This pick ranks first because it states the largest sleeping capacity (4) among the four listings, and it also states a covered ladder, which no other pick does. It is the only pick to offer both a high stated capacity and that accessory.
Pros
- Stated sleeping capacity of 4
- Stated covered ladder
- Soft shell type stated
Cons
- Aluminum not stated
- Four season not stated
Good fit if
- For a family of four or a group needing a stated 4-person capacity
- For a buyer who wants a soft shell with a stated ladder
Skip if
- For a buyer who prefers a hard shell
- For a buyer who needs the seller to state aluminum
Verdict: The Pittman Outdoors soft shell is the top pick for its stated four-person capacity and covered ladder.
2 Hard shell with stated 2-person capacity
Naturnest Rooftop Tent Hard Shell
- Shell type
- Hard shell
- Sleeps (people)
- 2 people
$1,699.00 price as of 2026-10-12 05:13 UTC (Details)
This pick ranks second because it is one of two listings stating a sleeping capacity of two, and it comes before the other 2-person soft shell because of the order in the product pool. Its hard shell type is a distinguishing feature against the other 2-person listing.
Pros
- Hard shell type stated
- Sleeps 2 stated
- Pop-up design stated
Cons
- Aluminum not stated
- Ladder not stated
Good fit if
- For a couple who wants a hard shell
- For a buyer who values a stated pop-up design
Skip if
- For a family needing more than two stated capacity
- For a buyer who wants a ladder stated
Verdict: The Bayati Naturnest hard shell is a solid second choice for a 2-person hard shell, with a pop-up design stated in its title.
3 Only 2-person soft shell here
Extended Soft Shell Rooftop Tent
- Shell type
- Soft shell
- Sleeps (people)
- 2 people
$1,649.99 price as of 2026-10-12 05:31 UTC (Details)
This pick ranks third because it also states a sleeping capacity of two, but it appears later in the pool than the Naturnest hard shell. It offers a soft shell format and an extended design, details the hard shell pick does not state.
Pros
- Soft shell type stated
- Sleeps 2 stated
- Extended soft shell design stated
Cons
- Aluminum not stated
- Ladder not stated
Good fit if
- For a couple who prefers a soft shell
- For a buyer who wants a 2-person tent from Overland Vehicle Systems
Skip if
- For a buyer who needs a ladder stated
- For a buyer who prefers a hard shell
Verdict: The Extended soft shell is a fitting third pick for a 2-person soft shell, with the Overland Vehicle Systems name in its title.
4 Only pick with aluminum stated
SanHima Rooftop Tent Hard Shell
- Shell type
- Hard shell
- Aluminum
- Yes
$1,699.99 price as of 2026-10-12 05:31 UTC (Details) Typical price: $1,799.99, 6% off
This pick ranks fourth because it does not state a sleeping capacity in its title. The guide places all listings with a stated capacity ahead of those without, regardless of other features; this pick does state aluminum, which distinguishes it from the others, but the missing capacity keeps it last.
Pros
- Aluminum stated in the title
- Hard shell type stated
- Fold-out design stated
Cons
- Sleeping capacity not stated
- Ladder not stated
- Four season not stated
Good fit if
- For a buyer who wants an aluminum hard shell
- For a buyer who will check the listing for capacity details
Skip if
- For a buyer who needs the seller to state a sleeping capacity
- For a buyer who wants a ladder stated
Verdict: The SanHima hard shell is a suitable last pick for those prioritizing a stated aluminum build, but its missing capacity requires a closer look at the listing.
Side by side
| # | Rooftop tent | Shell type | Sleeps (people) | Tent width | Aluminum | Four season or insulated | Ladder included |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Soft Shell Rooftop Tent with Covered Ladder Access | Soft shell | 4 people | not stated | not stated | not stated | Yes |
| 2 | Naturnest Rooftop Tent Hard Shell | Hard shell | 2 people | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 3 | Extended Soft Shell Rooftop Tent | Soft shell | 2 people | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 4 | SanHima Rooftop Tent Hard Shell | Hard shell | not stated | not stated | Yes | not stated | not stated |
How we picked
The pool for this guide holds four rooftop tent listings selected from the price window specified for this guide. Each listing is compared on the details stated in its title: shell type, sleeping capacity, aluminum, four season availability, and ladder. The picks are ordered by stated sleeping capacity (largest first), then by how many of the features aluminum, four season, and ladder are stated in the title, then by the order in the pool file. Listings without a stated capacity come after all that do. The guide relies only on stated details and live prices; it does not make claims about performance, behavior, or suitability for any vehicle. For mounting guidance, the maker's instructions and the vehicle manual are the references. This method keeps the comparison transparent and repeatable.
How to choose
Hard shell or soft shell
A hard shell rooftop tent is described as a rigid case that opens, while a soft shell is a fabric tent that folds into a cover. This list includes two hard shells and two soft shells. Choose based on preference; the guide does not claim one is better.
How many people the title says it sleeps
The seller states a sleeping capacity in some titles, for example 2 or 4. The largest figure given is used for comparison. One pick states 4, two state 2, and one does not state a capacity. When a capacity is missing, read the listing for details.
Aluminum and ladder in a title
One pick states aluminum in its title; another states a covered ladder. These are stated details, not claims about strength or safety. If you want these features, look for listings that explicitly name them.
Ask the maker about mounting and roof limits
Rooftop tents mount on a vehicle roof, but this guide does not evaluate fit or safety. Read the maker's instructions and the vehicle manual for roof and rack limits, and use a qualified installer where the maker or local rules require one.
What this guide leaves out (and why)
This guide compares stated details and live prices only. It does not cover weight, setup time, weather performance, or durability, because the listing data does not include those measurements. Any claims about those features would be guesses, so the guide avoids them.
Questions
Does this guide cover rooftop tent weight or setup time?
No. The product listings do not state weight or setup time, and this guide does not estimate them. It compares only the details each listing states, such as shell type, sleeping capacity, aluminum, ladder, and live prices. The guide does not make claims beyond the catalogue.
How do I know if a rooftop tent fits my vehicle?
Read the maker's instructions and your vehicle manual for roof and rack limits. Use a qualified installer where the maker or local rules require one. This guide does not assess vehicle fit or safety. Never rely on the listing alone for mounting details.
What does 'sleeps 4' in a title mean?
It is the largest number of people the seller states the tent will sleep. One pick states 4, two state 2, and one does not state a capacity. The guide uses the stated figure without guessing comfort or roominess. Check the listing for details if capacity matters.
Are aluminum and ladder details reliable?
When a title states aluminum or a ladder, the guide records it as a stated feature. It does not verify performance or durability. If these features are important, confirm them in the listing before purchase. The listing may include additional information beyond the title.
Why is one pick listed without a sleeping capacity?
The SanHima hard shell title does not mention a sleeping capacity. The guide places it after picks with a stated capacity because the ordering rule prioritizes capacity. Read the listing for capacity details. If a capacity is essential, consider a pick that states one. The guide does not guess capacity from other details.
Recent updates
- : First published.



