BestRooftopTent

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best Rooftop Tents Under $1800 in 2026: 6 Picks by Specs

This guide's top pick is the Bayati Naturnest hard shell, a 3-person tent with four season stated in the title. The six rooftop tents in the under $1800 window are compared on stated details and live prices, and the list ranks each entry by its stated sleeping capacity first. Tents that state no sleeping capacity come after the rest. Read on for the pick list, buying advice, and the answers to common questions.

6 picks from 6 rooftop tents that match this guide with a price we can quote today, made by 10 makers. Every price below is live and carries the moment it was read.

The picks at a glance

Which one should you buy?

  • For a couple who camps on weekends: The Overland Vehicle Systems LD TMON states a 2-person capacity, a hard shell, and aluminum. A couple on weekend trips who want a stated two-person tent can start with this listing. See pick 4
  • For a small family of three: Three listings state a 3-person capacity: the Naturnest hard shell, the Bayati hard shell, and the Tuff Stuff tent. The Naturnest is the only one of the three with four season stated in the title. See pick 1
  • For a buyer who prefers a rigid case: A hard shell is stated on the Naturnest, the Bayati, and the Overland Vehicle Systems LD TMON listings. The first two also state a 3-person capacity. See pick 1
  • For a buyer who wants a fabric tent that folds into a cover: The Overland Vehicle Systems HD Nomadic 3 is the only soft-shell listing here, and the title states aluminum. A buyer who wants a fabric tent that folds into a cover can look at this entry, though no sleeping capacity is stated. See pick 6

The 6 picks

1 Four season stated, 3-person hard shell

Naturnest Rooftop Tent Hard Shell with Annex Room

Naturnest Rooftop Tent Hard Shell with Annex Room

Shell type
Hard shell
Sleeps (people)
3 people
Four season or insulated
Yes

$1,759.00 price as of 2026-10-12 05:32 UTC (Details)

View on Amazon

It ranks first because it holds the largest stated sleeping capacity of 3 and is the only pick with four season stated in the title. Among the three-person tents it leads on stated features, and the hard shell is stated as well.

Pros

  • Sleeps 3 per the title
  • Four season stated in the title
  • Hard shell stated in the title

Cons

  • Aluminum not stated by the seller
  • Ladder not stated by the seller

Good fit if

  • For a buyer who wants a stated 3-person capacity
  • For a buyer who wants a hard shell with four season stated in the title

Skip if

  • For a buyer who needs aluminum stated in the title
  • For a buyer who prefers a soft shell

Verdict: The Naturnest hard shell is the top pick for its stated 3-person capacity and four season detail.

2 Ties for largest stated capacity, 3 persons

Bayati Rooftop Tent Hard Shell

Bayati Rooftop Tent Hard Shell

Shell type
Hard shell
Sleeps (people)
3 people

$1,799.00 price as of 2026-10-12 05:32 UTC (Details)

View on Amazon

It ranks second because it shares the largest stated sleeping capacity of 3 but states fewer features than the top pick: the title names none of four season, aluminum, or ladder. It sits ahead of the Tuff Stuff listing because it appears earlier in the pool after ties on capacity and feature count.

Pros

  • Sleeps 3 stated in the title
  • Hard shell stated in the title
  • Brand Bayati stated in the title

Cons

  • Aluminum not stated by the seller
  • Four season not stated by the seller
  • Ladder not stated by the seller

Good fit if

  • For a buyer who wants a stated 3-person hard shell
  • For a buyer who wants the Bayati brand

Skip if

  • For a buyer who needs four season stated in the title
  • For a buyer who needs aluminum stated in the title

Verdict: A 3-person hard shell that ranks second on the stated details.

3 3-person tent with a stated 65-inch width

Tuff Stuff Overland Ranger TS-RTT-RAN-65 Roof Top Tent; 3 Person; 65"

Tuff Stuff Overland Ranger TS-RTT-RAN-65 Roof Top Tent; 3 Person; 65"

Sleeps (people)
3 people
Tent width
65 in

$1,705.00 price as of 2026-10-12 05:31 UTC (Details)

View on Amazon

It ranks third among the three-person picks because it ties the largest stated sleeping capacity but states no shell type, no aluminum, and no four season. Its stated width of 65 inches offers a detail the other three-person tents do not list.

Pros

  • Sleeps 3 stated in the title
  • Width of 65 inches stated in the title
  • Brand Tuff Stuff stated in the title

Cons

  • Shell type not stated by the seller
  • Aluminum not stated by the seller
  • Four season not stated by the seller

Good fit if

  • For a buyer who wants a stated 3-person capacity
  • For a buyer who wants a stated width in the title

Skip if

  • For a buyer who wants a stated shell type
  • For a buyer who needs aluminum stated in the title

Verdict: A 3-person tent that ranks third on stated capacity and its stated width.

4 2-person hard shell with aluminum stated

Hard Shell Rooftop Tent

Hard Shell Rooftop Tent

Shell type
Hard shell
Sleeps (people)
2 people
Aluminum
Yes

$1,749.99 price as of 2026-10-12 05:32 UTC (Details)

View on Amazon

It ranks fourth because it states a 2-person capacity and leads that group on features, with aluminum and a hard shell stated in the title. It is placed ahead of the XD Sherpa hybrid because it appears earlier in the pool after the tie on capacity and feature count.

Pros

  • Aluminum stated in the title
  • Hard shell stated in the title
  • Sleeps 2 stated in the title
  • Overland Vehicle Systems brand stated in the title

Cons

  • Four season not stated by the seller
  • Ladder not stated by the seller
  • Stated capacity of 2 is the smaller figure among the stated-capacity picks

Good fit if

  • For a couple who wants a stated 2-person capacity
  • For a buyer who wants aluminum stated in the title

Skip if

  • For a buyer who needs a 3-person capacity
  • For a buyer who wants four season stated in the title

Verdict: A 2-person hard shell with aluminum stated, ranked fourth.

5 Hybrid shell with aluminum stated

Overland Vehicle Systems XD Sherpa Soft Shell Aluminum Hard Shell Hybrid

Overland Vehicle Systems XD Sherpa Soft Shell Aluminum Hard Shell Hybrid

Shell type
Hybrid
Sleeps (people)
2 people
Aluminum
Yes

$1,747.16 price as of 2026-10-12 05:12 UTC (Details)

View on Amazon

It ranks fifth because it states a 2-person capacity and aluminum, tying the LD TMON on both counts. The pool order places the LD TMON ahead of the XD Sherpa, and the Sherpa listing states a hybrid shell.

Pros

  • Hybrid shell stated in the title
  • Aluminum stated in the title
  • Sleeps 2 stated in the title

Cons

  • Four season not stated by the seller
  • Ladder not stated by the seller
  • Stated capacity of 2 is the smaller figure among the stated-capacity picks

Good fit if

  • For a buyer who wants a hybrid shell stated in the title
  • For a buyer who wants aluminum stated in the title

Skip if

  • For a buyer who wants a stated 3-person capacity
  • For a buyer who wants four season stated in the title

Verdict: A hybrid-shell 2-person tent with aluminum stated, ranked fifth.

6 The only soft shell here, aluminum stated

Overland Vehicle Systems HD Nomadic 3 Extended Soft Shell Roof Top Tent

Overland Vehicle Systems HD Nomadic 3 Extended Soft Shell Roof Top Tent

Shell type
Soft shell
Aluminum
Yes

$1,746.51 price as of 2026-10-12 05:31 UTC (Details)

View on Amazon

It ranks last because the title states no sleeping capacity, so it falls after every pick that does. Among listings without a stated capacity, it is the only one here, and it carries the soft shell and aluminum details.

Pros

  • Soft shell stated in the title
  • Aluminum stated in the title
  • Overland Vehicle Systems brand stated in the title

Cons

  • Sleeping capacity not stated by the seller
  • Four season not stated by the seller
  • Ladder not stated by the seller

Good fit if

  • For a buyer who prefers a soft shell stated in the title
  • For a buyer who wants aluminum stated in the title

Skip if

  • For a buyer who needs a stated sleeping capacity
  • For a buyer who wants a hard shell or a hybrid shell

Verdict: The soft-shell pick with aluminum stated, ranked last for its missing capacity detail.

Side by side

#Rooftop tentShell typeSleeps (people)Tent widthAluminumFour season or insulatedLadder included
1Naturnest Rooftop Tent Hard Shell with Annex RoomHard shell3 peoplenot statednot statedYesnot stated
2Bayati Rooftop Tent Hard ShellHard shell3 peoplenot statednot statednot statednot stated
3Tuff Stuff Overland Ranger TS-RTT-RAN-65 Roof Top Tent; 3 Person; 65"not stated3 people65 innot statednot statednot stated
4Hard Shell Rooftop TentHard shell2 peoplenot statedYesnot statednot stated
5Overland Vehicle Systems XD Sherpa Soft Shell Aluminum Hard Shell HybridHybrid2 peoplenot statedYesnot statednot stated
6Overland Vehicle Systems HD Nomadic 3 Extended Soft Shell Roof Top TentSoft shellnot statednot statedYesnot statednot stated

How we picked

This guide covers six rooftop tents in the under $1800 window, drawn from the pool of listings whose prices fall in that range. The picks are ordered first by the stated sleeping capacity in each title, largest first, and listings that state no sleeping capacity come after those that do. Within a capacity group, the order follows how many of three stated details appear in the title: aluminum, four season, and ladder. Ties on that count follow the order of the pool. Each tent is compared on stated details and live prices, never on any measured result.

How to choose

Hard shell or soft shell

A rooftop tent is a tent that mounts on a vehicle roof and unfolds to sleep people above the ground. Sellers describe the shell in the listing title: a hard shell is a rigid case that opens, a soft shell is a fabric tent that folds into a cover, and a hybrid title names both. In this list, three entries state a hard shell, one states a soft shell, and one states a hybrid. Choose the shell type that fits how you plan to camp, and read the listing for the seller's own description.

How many people the title says it sleeps

Sellers state a figure such as 2-3 Person in the title. This guide uses the largest figure of that range, so a 2-3 Person title reads as a 3-person tent. That number is what the seller states, not a comfort promise. In this list, three titles state a 3-person capacity, two state a 2-person capacity, and one states no capacity.

Aluminum and four season in a title

Some rooftop tent titles name aluminum; others name four season, winter, thermal, or insulation. This guide records those words as stated details, and the listing is where the seller describes them. Four season words point to a tent the seller offers across seasons, and aluminum words name a material. The catalogue holds no measurements for warmth, strength, or weight.

Read the listing before you read the guide

Every comparison here comes from the words in each listing: shell type, sleeping figure, width, and the features the title states. Read the full listing for the details this guide does not carry, and read the maker's instructions for anything about mounting or use. The seller's own text is the source of every claim on this page.

Ask the maker about mounting and roof limits

This guide makes no mounting, load, or vehicle-fit claims. For a rooftop tent, read the listing and the maker's instructions, check the vehicle maker's roof and rack limits in the vehicle manual, and use a qualified installer where the maker or local rules require one. The vehicle manual is the authority for roof limits.

What this guide leaves out (and why)

This guide compares tents on stated details and live prices only. The seller's listing does not state data for weight, packed size, setup time, weather performance, waterproof claims, insulation figures, noise, condensation, fuel economy, reliability, durability, build quality, or lifespan. The catalogue is the only source for what appears on this page.

Questions

Does this guide cover weight, setup time, or weather performance?

No. This guide compares tents on stated details and live prices only. The seller's listing is the source for details like weight, packed size, setup time, weather performance, waterproofing, and insulation. The catalogue holds no such figures, so this guide does not guess them.

How are the picks ordered?

Picks are ordered first by the stated sleeping capacity in each title, largest first. Ties are broken by how many of three stated details appear in the title: aluminum, four season, and ladder. Listings that state no sleeping capacity come after the others, and final ties follow the order of the pool.

What does a stated capacity of 3 mean?

It is the largest figure the seller writes in the title, so a title that reads 2-3 Person is counted as 3. It is a stated figure, not a comfort promise. The listing is where the seller describes the sleeping space, and this guide does not say how many adults fit comfortably.

Can these tents fit my vehicle?

This guide does not make fit, load, or mounting claims. For a rooftop tent, read the listing and the maker's instructions, check the vehicle maker's roof and rack limits in the vehicle manual, and use a qualified installer where the maker or local rules require one. The vehicle manual is the authority for roof limits.

What does four season mean in a title?

The seller states the phrase in the title, and the listing holds the details. In general terms, a four season word points to a tent the seller offers across seasons. This guide records the word as a stated detail and does not promise warmth or weather protection.

What does aluminum mean in a title?

The seller states the word in the title, and the listing holds the details. This guide records aluminum as a stated material and does not guess what it means for weight or strength. The maker's instructions may describe the material further.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related guides