Best Rooftop Tent Under $1400 (2026): 5 Picks by Specs
For a rooftop tent under $1400, this guide starts with the Overland Vehicle Systems HD Nomadic 3, a soft shell titled for 3 people, the largest stated sleeping capacity in this list. It ranks ahead of a Bayati hard shell for 2 people, followed by three hard shells whose titles state aluminum but no capacity. The five listings are compared on the details each seller states and on live prices, in the order of the pool.
5 picks from 5 rooftop tents that match this guide with a price we can quote today, made by 10 makers. Every price below is live and carries the moment it was read.
The picks at a glance
| # | Pick | Rooftop tent | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Largest stated sleeping capacity in this list | Overland Vehicle Systems Soft Shell Rooftop Tent | $1,399.99 price as of 2026-10-12 05:32 UTC (Details) |
| 2 | Hard shell with stated 2-person capacity | Naturnest Rooftop Tent Hard Shell | $1,399.00 price as of 2026-10-12 05:31 UTC (Details) |
| 3 | Hard shell with aluminum stated | SanHima Hotham Rooftop Tent Hard Shell | $1,399.99 price as of 2026-10-12 05:31 UTC (Details) |
| 4 | Slimline hard shell with aluminum stated | Rooftop Tent Hard Shell | $1,359.99 price as of 2026-10-12 05:31 UTC (Details) |
| 5 | Hard shell with aluminum and awning stated | Bayati Aluminum Rooftop Tent | $1,399.00 price as of 2026-10-12 05:32 UTC (Details) |
Which one should you buy?
- For a family or small group: The Overland Vehicle Systems pick is the only one in this list with a stated 3-person capacity, so it suits buyers who plan for three people as the seller states it. See pick 1
- For a couple who camps on weekends: The Bayati Naturnest states a hard shell and a 2-person capacity, a rigid case option for two people. See pick 2
- For a buyer who prefers a rigid case: Three of the picks are hard shells with aluminum stated in the title; the SAN HIMA Hotham is the first of them by pool order. See pick 3
- For a buyer who wants a slim profile stated: The Hotham Lite states a 4.57 inch slimline profile and a full ceiling LED light in its title, details no other pick here prints. See pick 4
The 5 picks
1 Largest stated sleeping capacity in this list
Overland Vehicle Systems Soft Shell Rooftop Tent
- Shell type
- Soft shell
- Sleeps (people)
- 3 people
$1,399.99 price as of 2026-10-12 05:32 UTC (Details)
It ranks first because its title states a 3-person capacity, the largest stated sleeping capacity among the five picks. No other listing in this window states more than two people, and this is the only soft shell in the list.
Pros
- Soft shell stated in the title
- 3-person capacity stated
- Only soft shell in this list
Cons
- Aluminum not stated by the seller
- Four season not stated
- Ladder not stated
Good fit if
- Buyers who want a soft shell that folds into a cover
- Buyers who need the stated 3-person capacity among these picks
Skip if
- Buyers who want a hard shell
- Buyers who want aluminum stated in the title
Verdict: The top pick for its stated 3-person capacity and its place as the only soft shell in this list.
2 Hard shell with stated 2-person capacity
Naturnest Rooftop Tent Hard Shell
- Shell type
- Hard shell
- Sleeps (people)
- 2 people
$1,399.00 price as of 2026-10-12 05:31 UTC (Details)
It ranks second because it is one of only two picks with a stated sleeping capacity, at 2 people, behind the Overland Vehicle Systems 3-person title. It is a hard shell from the Bayati brand, with no aluminum stated.
Pros
- Hard shell stated in the title
- 2-person capacity stated
- Bayati Naturnest model named in the title
Cons
- Aluminum not stated by the seller
- Four season not stated
- Ladder not stated
Good fit if
- Couples or small groups who want a stated 2-person capacity
- Buyers who prefer a hard shell
Skip if
- Buyers who need a stated 3-person capacity
- Buyers who want aluminum stated in the title
Verdict: A solid second pick with a hard shell and a stated 2-person capacity, ahead of the three picks that state no capacity.
3 Hard shell with aluminum stated
SanHima Hotham Rooftop Tent Hard Shell
- Shell type
- Hard shell
- Aluminum
- Yes
$1,399.99 price as of 2026-10-12 05:31 UTC (Details)
It ranks third as the first of the three picks whose titles state no sleeping capacity. Its title states a hard shell and aluminum, one stated feature, and it comes first among those three by pool order.
Pros
- Hard shell stated in the title
- Aluminum stated in the title
- SAN HIMA brand
Cons
- Sleeping capacity not stated by the seller
- Four season not stated
- Ladder not stated
Good fit if
- Buyers who prefer a rigid case
- Buyers who want aluminum stated in the title
Skip if
- Buyers who need a stated sleeping capacity
- Buyers who want a soft shell
Verdict: A well-placed hard shell with aluminum stated, ranking behind the capacity-stating picks and leading the three that state no capacity.
4 Slimline hard shell with aluminum stated
Rooftop Tent Hard Shell
- Shell type
- Hard shell
- Aluminum
- Yes
$1,359.99 price as of 2026-10-12 05:31 UTC (Details)
It ranks fourth because, like the SAN HIMA Hotham, its title states a hard shell and aluminum but no sleeping capacity. It follows the Hotham by pool order; its title adds a stated 4.57 inch slimline profile and a full ceiling LED light.
Pros
- Hard shell stated in the title
- Aluminum stated in the title
- 4.57 inch slimline stated in the title
- Full ceiling LED light stated in the title
Cons
- Sleeping capacity not stated by the seller
- Four season not stated
- Ladder not stated
Good fit if
- Buyers who want a slim profile stated in the title
- Buyers who want LED lighting stated in the title
Skip if
- Buyers who need a stated sleeping capacity
- Buyers who don't want a hard shell
Verdict: A fourth pick that matches the Hotham on stated aluminum and adds a stated slimline profile and LED light, trailing on pool order.
5 Hard shell with aluminum and awning stated
Bayati Aluminum Rooftop Tent
- Shell type
- Hard shell
- Aluminum
- Yes
$1,399.00 price as of 2026-10-12 05:32 UTC (Details)
It ranks last among the three no-capacity hard shells with aluminum stated, coming after the two SAN HIMA picks by pool order. Its Bayati title adds a side awning, a stated detail the other picks do not print.
Pros
- Hard shell stated in the title
- Aluminum stated in the title
- Side awning stated in the title
Cons
- Sleeping capacity not stated by the seller
- Four season not stated
- Ladder not stated
Good fit if
- Buyers who want a side awning stated in the title
- Buyers who prefer the Bayati brand
Skip if
- Buyers who need a stated sleeping capacity
- Buyers who want a soft shell
Verdict: A capable fifth pick, placing after the other no-capacity hard shells on pool order while stating aluminum and a side awning.
Side by side
| # | Rooftop tent | Shell type | Sleeps (people) | Tent width | Aluminum | Four season or insulated | Ladder included |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Overland Vehicle Systems Soft Shell Rooftop Tent | Soft shell | 3 people | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 2 | Naturnest Rooftop Tent Hard Shell | Hard shell | 2 people | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 3 | SanHima Hotham Rooftop Tent Hard Shell | Hard shell | not stated | not stated | Yes | not stated | not stated |
| 4 | Rooftop Tent Hard Shell | Hard shell | not stated | not stated | Yes | not stated | not stated |
| 5 | Bayati Aluminum Rooftop Tent | Hard shell | not stated | not stated | Yes | not stated | not stated |
How we picked
This guide draws from a pool of five rooftop tent listings priced under $1400, matching the keyword window. Four list a hard shell and one lists a soft shell. Picks are ordered by stated sleeping capacity first (largest first), then by how many of aluminum, four season and ladder the title states (most first), then by the order in the pool file. Listings that state no sleeping capacity come after those that do. Tents are compared on stated details and live prices; the catalogue does not hold weight, setup time or weather performance, so none of that is guessed.
How to choose
Hard shell or soft shell
A hard shell is a rigid case that opens, and a soft shell is a fabric tent that folds into a cover. This guide compares them only on what each title states, never on setup speed, warmth or strength, because the catalogue has no data for those. In this list, four picks state a hard shell and one states a soft shell.
How many people the title says it sleeps
"Sleeps 3" or "Sleeps 2" is the largest number of people the seller prints in the listing title. It is not a comfort promise, and this guide never says how many adults fit comfortably. Two of the five picks state a capacity: 3 people for the Overland Vehicle Systems tent and 2 people for the Bayati Naturnest. The other three titles are silent, so this guide writes "not stated by the seller".
Aluminum and four season in a title
When a listing names aluminum or aluminium, this guide notes it as a stated detail, and when a title says 4 season, winter, thermal or insulation, this guide notes a four season claim. Neither is a promise of weight, strength or warmth. Three of the five picks here state aluminum; none of the five states a four season claim, ladder or width.
Read the listing before you read the guide
The pool is drawn from listing titles and their live prices, which move over time. The page prints each price with its reading time. Before you choose, read the full listing for the details this guide does not hold, such as packed size, mounting parts and any maker notes, and check the price shown on the page at the moment you buy.
Ask the maker about mounting and roof limits
Nothing here says a tent fits, suits or is safe on a particular vehicle, roof, rack or crossbar. For mounting, read the maker's instructions and the vehicle maker's roof and rack limits in the vehicle manual, and use a qualified installer where the maker or local rules require one. This guide covers stated details and live prices only.
What this guide leaves out (and why)
The catalogue used here holds only what each listing states: shell type, stated sleeping capacity, stated width, stated aluminum, four season and ladder, plus the live price. Weight, setup time, weather performance, durability and warranty are not in the data, so this guide does not guess them. Compare these five picks on stated details and live prices alone.
Questions
Does this guide cover weight, setup time or weather performance?
No. The catalogue holds only what each listing states: shell type, stated sleeping capacity, stated width, stated aluminum, four season and ladder, plus the live price. Weight, packed size, setup time, weather performance and durability are not in the data, so this guide does not guess them. Decisions here rest on stated details and live prices only.
What does "sleeps 3" or "sleeps 2" mean in these picks?
It is the largest number of people the seller prints in the listing title. It is not a comfort promise, and this guide never says how many adults fit comfortably. Two of the five listings state a capacity: the Overland Vehicle Systems tent states 3 and the Bayati Naturnest states 2. The other three do not state one, so this guide writes "not stated by the seller".
Which picks are hard shells and which is a soft shell?
Four picks state a hard shell: the Bayati Naturnest, the SAN HIMA Hotham, the SAN HIMA Hotham Lite and the Bayati Aluminum tent. One pick, the Overland Vehicle Systems HD Nomadic 3, states a soft shell. The guide compares only what the titles say; it does not claim one shell is faster, lighter or stronger than the other.
Where can I learn about mounting and vehicle roof limits?
Read the maker's instructions for each tent and the vehicle maker's roof and rack limits in the vehicle manual. Use a qualified installer where the maker or local rules require one. This guide covers stated details and live prices, not mounting or vehicle fit, so those questions belong with the maker and the vehicle manual.
Can you tell me if one of these tents is worth its price?
No. The page prints each live price with its reading time, and this guide never ranks by value or popularity. You decide by comparing shell, stated capacity and stated features against the price shown at the moment you buy. The pick order here follows stated sleeping capacity, stated features and pool order, never price.
Recent updates
- : First published.




