BestRooftopTent

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best Thule Rooftop Tent: 3 Picks by Stated Details

This guide picks the Thule Approach 2 Large as the top Thule rooftop tent among the three listings compared here. Its title states the largest sleeping capacity, 3-4 persons, and a memory foam mattress. The guide compares the three Thule listings on stated details and live prices, ordering them by stated sleeping capacity from largest to smallest. The Kukenam and Foothill follow on stated capacity and the details their titles name.

3 picks from 3 rooftop tents that match this guide with a price we can quote today, made by 10 makers. Every price below is live and carries the moment it was read.

The picks at a glance

Which one should you buy?

  • For a couple who camps on weekends: A stated 2-person capacity and a low-profile design make the Foothill a natural match for a couple loading up for short trips. See pick 3
  • For a small family of three: The Kukenam states a 3-person capacity, and its title names a foam mattress, large windows and mesh, which a small family can weigh when reading the listing. See pick 2
  • For a family of four or a larger group: The Approach 2 Large states a 3-4 person capacity, reading as 4, along with a memory foam mattress, so it suits buyers who want the largest stated figure in this list. See pick 1

The 3 picks

1 Largest stated sleeping capacity in this list

Thule Approach 2 Large

Thule Approach 2 Large

Sleeps (people)
4 people

$3,599.95 price as of 2026-10-12 05:32 UTC (Details)

View on Amazon

This pick ranks first because the title states the largest sleeping capacity, 3-4 persons, which reads as 4. It also states a memory foam mattress. The other two picks state smaller capacities, so this one leads the ordering rule.

Pros

  • Sleeps 4 per the title
  • Memory foam mattress stated
  • Largest stated capacity among the three picks

Cons

  • Shell type not stated by the seller
  • Width not stated by the seller
  • No ladder stated in the title

Good fit if

  • Buyers who want the largest stated sleeping capacity in this list
  • A family of four looking at the stated 3-4 person figure

Skip if

  • Buyers who prefer a shell type stated in the title
  • Buyers who need a width stated by the seller

Verdict: A Thule rooftop tent with the largest stated sleeping capacity in this list.

2 Weather-resistant fabric stated in the title

Thule Kukenam 3 Person Rooftop Tent

Thule Kukenam 3 Person Rooftop Tent

Sleeps (people)
3 people

$2,399.95 price as of 2026-10-12 05:12 UTC (Details)

View on Amazon

This pick ranks second with a stated 3-person capacity. Its title names durable weather-resistant fabric, a foam mattress, large windows and mesh, details the other two titles do not all share. It sits between the 4-person and 2-person picks on the ordering rule.

Pros

  • Sleeps 3 per the title
  • Weather-resistant fabric stated
  • Large windows and mesh stated

Cons

  • Shell type not stated by the seller
  • No width stated in the title
  • No ladder stated

Good fit if

  • A small group of three per the stated capacity
  • Buyers who want the title to state weather-resistant fabric and foam mattress

Skip if

  • Buyers who need a stated 4-person capacity
  • Buyers who want a shell type or width in the title

Verdict: A Thule rooftop tent whose title states weather-resistant fabric and a foam mattress.

3 Low-profile design with stated mattress

Thule Foothill 2 Person Rooftop Tent

Thule Foothill 2 Person Rooftop Tent

Sleeps (people)
2 people

$2,099.95 price as of 2026-10-12 05:31 UTC (Details)

View on Amazon

This pick ranks third with a stated 2-person capacity. It is the only title here that states a low-profile design, but it carries the smallest stated capacity in the list, so it comes after the larger picks on the ordering rule.

Pros

  • Sleeps 2 per the title
  • Low-profile design stated
  • Mattress included stated

Cons

  • Smallest stated capacity in this list
  • Shell type not stated by the seller
  • Weather-resistant fabric not stated

Good fit if

  • A couple camping on weekends per the stated 2-person capacity
  • Buyers who want a low-profile design stated in the title

Skip if

  • Groups of three or more per stated capacities
  • Buyers who want a weather-resistant fabric claim in the title

Verdict: A Thule rooftop tent for two with a stated low-profile design and included mattress.

Side by side

#Rooftop tentShell typeSleeps (people)Tent widthAluminumFour season or insulatedLadder included
1Thule Approach 2 Largenot stated4 peoplenot statednot statednot statednot stated
2Thule Kukenam 3 Person Rooftop Tentnot stated3 peoplenot statednot statednot statednot stated
3Thule Foothill 2 Person Rooftop Tentnot stated2 peoplenot statednot statednot statednot stated

How we picked

The pool for this guide holds 3 listings sold under the Thule maker name. The rule groups them by stated sleeping capacity, largest first: the title that reads 4 comes before the title that reads 3, and the title that reads 3 before the one that reads 2. Listings with no stated capacity would come after those with one. Every pick is compared on the details stated in its listing and on live prices, never on claims the catalogue does not support. As a brand guide, the three picks are ranked against each other only; no other maker appears.

How to choose

Stated sleeping capacity

The number of people a rooftop tent sleeps is what the title states, not a promise about comfort. A title that reads 3-4 Person gives 4 as its largest figure; a title that reads 3 Person gives 3. Use the stated figure to sort tents by size, then read the listing for any further details.

Read the title for stated details

A listing title is a short catalogue entry. It may name a mattress type, fabric, windows, mesh, or a low-profile design. In this list, the Approach 2 Large states a memory foam mattress, the Kukenam states weather-resistant fabric and large windows with mesh, and the Foothill states a low-profile design with an included mattress. These are the seller's statements; the listing is the place to read about them.

Ask the maker about mounting and roof limits

A rooftop tent mounts on a vehicle roof, but this guide cannot say which vehicle, rack, or crossbar fits a tent. Read the maker's instructions and the vehicle maker's roof and rack limits in the vehicle manual. Where the maker or local rules require it, use a qualified installer.

What this guide leaves out

The catalogue has no data for tent weight, packed size, setup time, weather performance, durability, or comfort. This guide does not guess those numbers. Compare the picks on stated details and live prices only.

Shell type is not stated here

None of the three Thule titles names a hard shell, soft shell, or hybrid. A shell type is a common detail on other rooftop tent listings, but it is absent here. The guide does not assume one.

Questions

Does this guide cover weight, setup time or weather performance?

No. The catalogue gives no data for those. The guide compares only the details stated in each listing and the live prices. Any number this guide gives comes from a listing title. For weight, setup time, or weather behavior, read the maker's materials and the listing's own description.

How do I know if a Thule rooftop tent fits my vehicle?

This guide cannot give a vehicle fit. Read the maker's instructions and the vehicle maker's roof and rack limits in the vehicle manual. Where the maker or local rules require one, use a qualified installer. The stated details in the listings do not include vehicle fit.

Which of the three picks states the largest sleeping capacity?

The Thule Approach 2 Large, whose title reads 3-4 Person, gives 4 as its largest stated figure. The Kukenam states 3 Person, and the Foothill states 2 Person. The ordering of the picks follows that stated capacity from largest to smallest.

Do the listings state a shell type?

No. None of the three titles names a hard shell, soft shell, or hybrid. The guide does not state a shell type for any pick. If a shell type matters to you, look for a listing whose title names one.

What does 'weather-resistant fabric' in the Kukenam title mean?

It is what the seller states in the title. The guide does not promise weather performance, insulation, or protection. Read the listing's own description for the maker's explanation of the fabric and its care.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related guides