Thule vs OVS: Hard Shell Tent Comparison
Short answer: Thule and Overland Vehicle Systems (OVS) are two brand names you will see on rooftop tent listings. Thule also sells roof racks and cargo carriers; OVS sells tents, awnings, truck caps and bed racks. The useful comparison is the stated detail set: shell type, sleeping capacity, width, materials and features. Fit and mounting questions are answered by the maker's instructions and the vehicle manual, not by the listing. Compare the two models on those stated details first.
What the brand names tell you on a listing
Thule and Overland Vehicle Systems, often shortened to OVS on a listing, are two brand names in the rooftop tent catalogue. Thule's home page lists roof racks as a category that covers bikes, kayaks and rooftop tents, alongside cargo carriers. Overland Vehicle Systems sells rooftop tents, awnings, truck caps and bed racks, and its page lists crossbars sold in pairs.
On a listing, the brand name appears with the model name and the shell type. The brand tells you which maker's instructions and spare parts apply. It does not tell you how one tent performs against another. The comparison that matters is the stated detail set: shell, sleeping capacity, width, materials and features.
- Maker name and series name, such as Nomadic or XD Nomadic on an OVS listing.
- Shell word: hard shell, soft shell or hybrid.
- Feature words: ladder, awning, annex room, LED lights.
Hard shell shape and the opening mechanism
Both brands sell hard shell tents, and the shell type is the first word to read in a title. A hard shell has a rigid top and base that hinge open, with the mattress and fabric stored inside. Listings may name the opening type as clamshell, wedge or side-open.
The mechanism that holds the shell open is a gas strut or a mechanical prop. The listing does not state how quickly the tent opens; that is not a spec the catalogue records. If the opening mechanism matters, ask the maker which type the model uses and read the maker's instruction page. The difference between hard shell and soft shell shapes is covered in hard shell or soft shell.
Materials the two makers state
The maker pages state materials in general terms. Overland Vehicle Systems lists soft shell models in black canvas with an aluminum frame. Thule describes its roof rack systems as built to carry rooftop tents and states that its products are designed for the elements.
Material words in a title, such as aluminum, canvas, ABS and polyester, describe the construction family, not a quality grade. Aluminum is the common shell and frame material in the catalogue; canvas is the common fabric word for soft shells. For the material comparisons, see aluminum shell or fiberglass shell and canvas or polyester soft shell.
Rack fit: what the listing cannot say
The most common question when comparing Thule and OVS tents is which one fits a roof rack. A listing cannot answer that. Fit depends on the vehicle, the rack system, the tent base and the mounting brackets, and none of those are stated tent specs.
Both makers sell roof racks and crossbars, but that does not mean a tent from either brand fits any rack. The maker's instructions and the vehicle manual decide fit, and a qualified installer answers mounting questions. Crossbar spacing and roof load are the same: read the maker's pages and ask before buying.
Warranty and support words on the maker pages
Overland Vehicle Systems states a quality-backed warranty, free shipping on orders above a stated amount, and hassle-free returns on its home page. The page does not give a warranty length, so the terms belong to the product listing or the seller.
Thule states that its products are developed to meet the maker's own standards for safety and durability. Neither maker gives one warranty length for every tent, so warranty is a question to ask per model. See warranty and certification for how to read warranty text.
How to compare a Thule and an OVS listing
To compare a Thule tent and an Overland Vehicle Systems tent, read the stated details on each listing: shell type, sleeping capacity, width, materials and features such as ladder, annex room and awning. The site compares tents on stated details only.
Start with sleeping capacity: a 2-person tent for a couple, a wider 3-person or 4-person tent for a family. Then read the width, because width tracks capacity. The capacity guides are 2 person, 3 person and 4 person.
Then compare feature words: telescopic ladder, annex room, awning, LED lights, skylights. A title that names more features gives a longer comparison list. The brand guides, Thule and Overland Vehicle Systems, show the stated details for each brand across the catalogue.
Trip planning guidance from an official source
Brand choice does not replace trip planning. The National Park Service camping page is an official source for camping basics: first-time camping, camping with kids, and recreating responsibly. Use it when you plan the trip the tent is for.
The page also links to guides on choosing between a tent and an RV and on cooking in camp. This site covers the tent side only. The overall guide, Best Rooftop Tent, is the starting point for the tent.
What to pick for your situation
| If you | Pick | Buying guide |
|---|---|---|
| You want a brand that also sells roof racks and cargo carriers | A Thule tent | Best Thule Rooftop Tent: 3 Picks by Stated Details |
| You want a brand centered on rooftop tents, awnings and truck caps | An Overland Vehicle Systems tent | Best Overland Vehicle Systems Rooftop Tents in 2026: 8 Picks |
| You want a rigid case that opens | A hard shell tent from either brand | Best Hard Shell Rooftop Tents in 2026: 13 Picks by Specs |
| You want a fabric tent that folds into a cover | A soft shell tent from either brand | Best Soft Shell Rooftop Tents in 2026: 7 Picks by Specs |
| You want a 2-person tent for a couple | A 2-person model | Best 2 Person Rooftop Tents in 2026: 10 Picks by Specs |
| You want a family-sized tent | A 3-person or 4-person model | Best 4 Person Rooftop Tent in 2026: 6 Picks by Specs |
| You want the widest stated feature set | A premium model from either brand | Best Premium Rooftop Tents in 2026: 13 Picks by Specs |
Questions
Which brand is better, Thule or Overland Vehicle Systems?
Neither is better on stated details alone. The catalogues differ: Thule also sells roof racks and cargo carriers, and OVS sells tents, awnings and truck caps. Compare the stated details of the two models you are choosing between: shell, capacity, width and features.
Are Thule tents compatible with Overland Vehicle Systems racks?
No listing or maker page states cross-brand fit. Fit is decided by the maker's instructions and the vehicle manual. Ask the tent maker and the rack maker, and have a qualified installer confirm the mounting.
Does Thule make hard shell rooftop tents?
Thule's home page lists rooftop tents as one use for its roof rack systems. The Thule guide on this site lists the Thule models in the catalogue by stated details.
Does Overland Vehicle Systems make soft shell tents?
OVS sells a range of tents; its home page lists rooftop tents, awnings, truck caps and bed racks, and the catalogue includes soft shell models in black canvas with an aluminum frame. Read the shell word in each listing.
What matters most when comparing these two brands?
The stated detail set: sleeping capacity, width, shell type, materials and the features named in the title. Fit and load questions are answered by the maker's instructions and the vehicle manual, not by the listing.
Can I judge build quality from the listings?
A listing states materials, not quality. Aluminum, canvas, ABS and polyester are material words; wind, rain and snow performance are not stated specs. Read the maker's care pages and ask the seller about the warranty.
Recent updates
- : First published.