Best Rooftop Tents Under $1500: 3 Picks by Specs
For a rooftop tent under $1500, this guide compares three listings from the catalogue on stated details and live prices. The top pick is the Naturnest Hard Shell, which states a 2-3 person capacity and four season features in its title. Each tent is compared on stated details and live prices, with no claims beyond what the seller lists.
3 picks from 4 rooftop tents that match this guide with a price we can quote today, made by 10 makers. Every price below is live and carries the moment it was read.
The picks at a glance
| # | Pick | Rooftop tent | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Largest stated capacity and four season | Naturnest Rooftop Tent Hard Shell | $1,499.00 price as of 2026-10-12 05:32 UTC (Details) |
| 2 | Stated soft shell for two persons | Overland Vehicle Systems Soft Shell Rooftop Tent | $1,499.99 price as of 2026-10-12 05:12 UTC (Details) |
| 3 | No stated details in the title | Rough Country Roof Top Tent | $1,499.95 price as of 2026-10-12 05:31 UTC (Details) |
Which one should you buy?
- For a couple who camps on weekends: The Overland Vehicle Systems Soft Shell states a 2-person capacity, matching a couple's weekend trips. Its soft shell design folds into a cover, as the title states. See pick 2
- For a family of three: The Naturnest Hard Shell states a 2-3 person capacity, suitable for a small family. Its hard shell and four season features are stated in the title. See pick 1
- For a buyer who prefers a rigid case: The Naturnest Hard Shell is the only pick here with a hard shell, as stated in its title. This may appeal to those who want a rigid case that opens. See pick 1
The 3 picks
1 Largest stated capacity and four season
Naturnest Rooftop Tent Hard Shell
- Shell type
- Hard shell
- Sleeps (people)
- 3 people
- Four season or insulated
- Yes
$1,499.00 price as of 2026-10-12 05:32 UTC (Details)
This pick ranks first because it states the largest sleeping capacity in this list at 3 persons, and it is the only one to mention four season features. Its hard shell is also stated, giving it two stated features beyond capacity.
Pros
- States a 2-3 person sleeping capacity, the largest in this list
- Title mentions four season features
- Hard shell type is stated in the title
Cons
- Width is not stated by the seller
- Aluminum is not stated in the title
- Ladder is not stated in the title
Good fit if
- Buyers who want a stated 3-person capacity
- Those who prefer a hard shell and four season features in the title
Skip if
- Buyers who need a stated width or aluminum construction
- Those who want a soft shell design
Verdict: The Naturnest leads this price window with its stated capacity and four season mention.
2 Stated soft shell for two persons
Overland Vehicle Systems Soft Shell Rooftop Tent
- Shell type
- Soft shell
- Sleeps (people)
- 2 people
$1,499.99 price as of 2026-10-12 05:12 UTC (Details)
This pick ranks second because it states a 2-person sleeping capacity, which is less than the Naturnest's 3 but more than the Rough Country's no stated capacity. Its soft shell is stated, giving it one feature.
Pros
- States a 2-person sleeping capacity
- Soft shell type is stated in the title
- Brand is Overland Vehicle Systems
Cons
- Four season is not stated by the seller
- Aluminum is not stated in the title
- Ladder is not stated in the title
Good fit if
- Couples who want a stated 2-person capacity
- Buyers who prefer a soft shell that folds into a cover
Skip if
- Those who need a stated 3-person capacity
- Buyers who want four season features in the title
Verdict: The Overland Vehicle Systems offers a stated soft shell and 2-person capacity for this price window.
3 No stated details in the title
This pick ranks last because its title states no sleeping capacity, shell type, or features. It follows the ordering rule, coming after listings with stated capacities, and has no stated features to compare.
Pros
- Brand is Rough Country
- Model number 99050 is stated
- One of three picks in this guide
Cons
- Sleeping capacity is not stated by the seller
- Shell type is not stated in the title
- No features such as aluminum, four season, or ladder are stated
Good fit if
- Buyers who are familiar with the Rough Country brand
- Those who want to check the listing for details not in the title
Skip if
- Buyers who need stated capacity or shell type
- Those who prefer a title with feature details
Verdict: The Rough Country tent has no stated details in its title, so it ranks last in this comparison.
Side by side
| # | Rooftop tent | Shell type | Sleeps (people) | Tent width | Aluminum | Four season or insulated | Ladder included |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Naturnest Rooftop Tent Hard Shell | Hard shell | 3 people | not stated | not stated | Yes | not stated |
| 2 | Overland Vehicle Systems Soft Shell Rooftop Tent | Soft shell | 2 people | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 3 | Rough Country Roof Top Tent | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
How we picked
This guide covers the full pool of three rooftop tents under $1500. The tents are compared on stated details and live prices, following the group rule for this price window. Picks are ordered by stated sleeping capacity (largest first), then by how many of aluminum, four season, and ladder the title states (most first), then by the order in the pool file. Listings that state no sleeping capacity come after those that do, ordered by the same feature count and then pool order. The Naturnest leads with a stated 3-person capacity and four season mention, followed by the Overland Vehicle Systems with a stated 2-person capacity, and the Rough Country with no stated details.
How to choose
Hard shell or soft shell
The title of a rooftop tent may state whether it is a hard shell or a soft shell. A hard shell is a rigid case that opens, while a soft shell is a fabric tent that folds into a cover. In this list, the Naturnest states a hard shell, and the Overland Vehicle Systems states a soft shell. The Rough Country does not state a shell type. Choose based on your preference for a rigid case or a folding fabric tent, but remember that the title is the only source here.
How many people the title says it sleeps
The sleeping capacity in a title is what the seller states, not a comfort promise. The Naturnest states a 2-3 person capacity, which reads as 3. The Overland Vehicle Systems states a 2-person capacity. The Rough Country does not state a capacity. Consider how many people you plan to sleep, but read the listing for any additional details.
Aluminum and four season in a title
Some titles state aluminum or four season features. Aluminum means the seller states the tent uses aluminum, though this does not imply weight or strength. Four season means the title mentions 4 season, winter, thermal, or insulation. In this list, only the Naturnest states four season. None of the picks state aluminum. These are stated details, not promises of performance.
Read the listing before you read the guide
This guide compares tents on stated details and live prices, but the listing may contain more information than the title. For example, the Rough Country title has no details, but the listing might state capacity or shell type. Always read the full listing for specifications, and check the maker's instructions for any mounting or usage guidance.
Ask the maker about mounting and roof limits
Rooftop tents mount on a vehicle roof, but this guide does not cover mounting or vehicle fit. For any tent, read the maker's instructions and check the vehicle maker's roof and rack limits in the vehicle manual. Use a qualified installer where the maker or local rules require one. The listing may also provide mounting details.
What this guide leaves out (and why)
This guide compares tents on stated details and live prices only. The catalogue has no data for weight, packed size, setup time, load limits, comfort, weather resistance, durability, or warranty. This guide does not guess these. The listing and the maker's instructions are the place to check those aspects.
Questions
Does this guide cover weight, setup time, or weather performance?
No. The catalogue has no data for weight, packed size, setup time, load limits, comfort, weather resistance, durability, or warranty. This guide compares tents on stated details and live prices only, and it does not guess missing information. For these aspects, read the listing and the maker's instructions, and check the vehicle manual for roof limits.
How are the picks ordered in this guide?
Picks are ordered by stated sleeping capacity (largest first), then by how many of aluminum, four season, and ladder the title states (most first), then by the order in the pool file. Listings that state no sleeping capacity come after those that do. The Naturnest leads with a stated 3-person capacity and four season, followed by the Overland Vehicle Systems with a stated 2-person capacity, and the Rough Country with no stated details.
What does 'four season' mean in a title?
When a title says 4 season, winter, thermal, or insulation, the seller is stating that the tent is designed for use in multiple seasons. This guide does not promise warmth or weather protection. It only notes that the listing describes these details. For specific performance, read the listing and the maker's information.
Can I mount any of these tents on my vehicle?
This guide does not cover mounting or vehicle fit. For any rooftop tent, read the maker's instructions and check the vehicle maker's roof and rack limits in the vehicle manual. Use a qualified installer where the maker or local rules require one. The listing may provide additional mounting details, but this guide does not.
Why does the Rough Country tent rank last?
The Rough Country tent's title states no sleeping capacity, shell type, or features such as aluminum, four season, or ladder. According to the ordering rule, listings with no stated capacity come after those with stated capacities. Since it has no stated features to compare, it ranks last in this list.
Recent updates
- : First published.


